PhD scholarship
in Algebraic Geometry in Warsaw

The scholarships are offered within the Sonata Bis grant "Complex contact manifolds and geometry of secants (CoCoMaGeS)" supported by NCN (National Science Center, Poland).

Institute of Mathematics of the Polish Academy of Sciences in Warsaw announces an open call for

a 2-year long PhD scholarship under the supervision of Jarosław Buczyński in collaboration with other team members listed on the project webpage.
Details and conditions:
A successful student will receive a scholarship of 2200PLN per month. In addition, the researcher will be granted a limited access to research costs, such as travel to conferences etc. The fellow must respect the NCN rules of funding, including those listed on page 7 of this document. In particular, no salary from NCN is allowed at the same time as his/her scholarship in the project (page 7, subsection 2.1.3, item (b)). Also this document is relevant to the recruitment process.
The position comes with no additional teaching duties (except those required as a part of the PhD studies).

Each application should contain a brief (1-2 pages) research plan and a CV with a list of achievements and publications. In addition, the applicant is required to arrange one recommendation letter to be sent directly by the recommendator.

Applications should be submitted before August 10, 2019 via e-mail to the principal investigator of the project Jarosław Buczyński,, with the subject line containing the project abbreviation "[CoCoMaGeS]". All other related inquiries should also be sent in the same way.

The applications will be analysed by the committee of Piotr Achinger, Jarosław Buczyński (chair), and Joachim Jelisiejew. The committee reserves the right to interview the best candidates prior to the decision. The decisions should be sent around Sept 1, 2019.
Further competitions for similar scholarships will be announced in 2020, perhaps also in 2021. At the end of the 2 year period, the applicant might be eligible to extend his position for up to 1 year by participating in the 2021 competition (subject to availability of funds).