Thematic Research Programme
Anisotropic and Inhomogeneous Phenomena


Anisotropic and inhomogeneous materials enjoy recently attention from the point of view of possible applications. At the same time, diffusion-type processes in media having nonstandard properties (including the motions of multiphased fluids in strongly inhomogeneous porous media) inspire a significant international mathematical community investigating variational models. Our Thematic Research Programme concentrates on anisotropic and inhomogeneous phenomena reflected in the theory for a wide class of singular and degenerate elliptic and parabolic equations and related issues in the calculus of variations.

Apart from visits of our colaborators, we plan two events in Warsaw a spring school (‘School on nonlinear PDEs’) and a workshop (‘Nonuniformly elliptic problems’).


The school and the workshop will take place in Institute of Mathematics of Polish Academy of Sciences in Warsaw.

Spring school
on nonlinear PDEs



Andrea Cianchi (University of Florence, Italy),
Orlicz-Sobolev spaces and applications to elliptic PDEs

Lars Diening (University of Bielefeld, Germany),
Maximal Regularity of Degenerate Elliptic Equations

Piotr Gwiazda (Institute of Mathematics, Polish Academy of Sciences, Warsaw, Poland),
PDEs in Anisotropic Musielak-Orlicz Spaces

Juha Kinnunen (Aalto University, Helsinki, Finland),
Parabolic BMO with applications to PDEs

Paolo Marcellini (University of Florence, Italy),
Regularity for elliptic equations under p,q-growth conditions

,,Nonuniformly elliptic problems''


Invited speakers

Angela Alberico (Institute for Applied Computing (IAC), CNR, Napoli, Italy)

Paolo Baroni (University of Parma, Italy)

Bartosz Bieganowski (Nicolaus Copernicus University, Toruń, Poland)

Miroslav Bulíček (Charles University, Prague, Czech)

Andrea Cianchi (University of Florence, Italy)

Cristiana De Filippis (University of Parma, Italy)

Lars Diening (University of Bielefeld, Germany)

Bartłomiej Dyda (Wrocław University of Science and Technology, Poland)

Franz Gmeineder (University of Konstanz, Germany)

Przemysław Górka (Technical University of Warsaw, Poland)

Wojciech Górny (University of Vienna, Austria)

Piotr Gwiazda (Institute of Mathematics of Polish Academy of Sciences, Warsaw, Poland)

Peter Hästö (University of Turku, Finland)

Mikyoung Lee (Pusan University, Korea)

Michał Łasica (University of Tokio, Japan)

Giuseppe Mingione (University of Parma, Italy)

Anastasia Molchanova (University of Vienna, Austria)

Jihoon Ok (Sogang University, Korea)

Edgard Almeida Pimentel (University of Coimbra, Portugal)

Lenka Slavikova (Charles University, Czechia)


Anna Kh. Balci (akhripun[at]math[dot]uni-bielefeld[dot]de)

Iwona Chlebicka (i[dot]chlebicka[at]mimuw[dot]edu[dot]pl)

Aneta Wróblewska-Kamińska (awrob[at]impan[dot]pl)

Anna Zatorska-Goldstein (azator[at]mimuw[dot]edu[dot]pl)